I Want to Catch ‘Em All, So What.

pokemongonewinfo

Ok. I had to put my two cents in about the new app sensation that is Pokémon Go. (As I write this, I have the original Pokémon series playing in the background. Also, I go to work later today, so no worries.) Those of us who were really into the show and collected cards, I think this app is the greatest thing ever. We get to relive a part of our childhood. Who wouldn’t want that.  However, I have seen so many memes that diss people who play the app. Can people enjoy themselves? Why must you be a hater?

Just because we are grown and play this game, doesn’t mean that we are 10 years old. A lot of us are working full time jobs and are still able to play the app. I’m not seeing anyone getting bashed for still playing Playstation or Xbox. It also does not mean that we are oblivious to what’s going on in the world. I am getting really sick and tired of people, mind you who have never watched Pokémon a day in their life or have played the app, are trying to speak for everyone and making these false claims. If a person never payed attention to their surroundings before this app came out, that’s their problem and that may not change. However, those of us who are aware need something good in our lives instead of always posting about the bad things that are happening everyday. Yes, it is ok to want to get away from news about the shootings of unarmed black men and the police, as well as the joke known as Donald Trump. Hell we need to keep our sanity and have peace of mind. I see Pokémon Go as my own self-care.

Then there’s this whole thing about, “oh, Pokémon Go is dangerous.” First off, just stop. It’s called having common sense, which a lot of people lack. There was the incident with the 15 year old girl who got hit by a car trying to cross the interstate and the whole thing in Central Park where people were losing their minds. There have also been muggings and stabbings because of the app. Here’s the thing. When you first open the app, you see this:first-pokemon-go-gameplay-details-and-screenshots-leaked-from-japanese-field-testing-911677

The app clearly tells you to be aware of your surroundings. If you are strictly looking for Pokémon, you don’t need to look down at your phone. Your phone vibrates when a Pokémon is nearby. You only need to look if you are looking for Pokéstops if you want to collect items. Anyways, back to my main point. Common sense is key when using this app. One of the main rules of course is to be aware of your surrounding as stated. When a person decides to go searching Pokémon after midnight and alone, they automatically are putting themselves at risk, which is their choice. The game does not force anyone to do anything. The choice is yours whether or not of you want to risk trespassing somewhere or go late into the night.

Pokémon Go does have benefits. It is a great way to workout and explore areas that you had no idea that existed. I would say I walked for about a good 2-3 hours this past Sunday searching for Pokémon. Now, who can say that working out is a bad thing. Pokémon Go also allows people from different walks of life to bond over a shared love. This weekend, I’ll be attending a Pokémon Go event at Tempe Town Lake to meet new people. I wouldn’t mind meeting someone new out here, especially since the only people I know are the people I work with, but I did make a great friend from there. I have watched videos that show how Pokémon Go has helped children in hospitals to feel like kids again and not someone who is sick. I’ve read about how Pokémon Go has helped an autistic child interact with others for the first time.

This app is great in my opinion and people really should stop knocking it until they try it for themselves. Better yet, just allow people to live their lives and stop trying to take that away from them. Just because you don’t want to play, doesn’t mean that we have to stop playing. To all you Pokémon trainers, get out there and catch ’em all, stay safe, and be aware of your surroundings.

TEAM VALOR ALL THE WAY!!!!

pokemon-go-2_0

Leave a Reply

