Short Review: Batman: The Killing Joke

maxresdefaultLast night, I saw the screening of Batman: The Killing Joke, based from the controversial graphic novel. I was very excited to see this come to life, especially since Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill reprised their roles of Batman and Joker. I do have a confession. For a long time, I did not know that Mark Hamill voiced the Joker and I watched the animated series faithfully. Shame on me for that. Anyways, I was excited to see the movie. I do admit, I did become skeptical after hearing some unfortunate changes that occurred and had to see for myself.

The first 25-30 minutes of the movie focused on Batgirl and her being a crime fighter. Long story short, the storyline that the director and animators created seemed really out of place.  The tone of her storyline did not match the overall tone of the Killing Joke itself. As a friend of mine put it, it felt like we were watching an episode of the animated series and then the Killing Joke. The animation did have a feel of the animated series, which I liked. Barbara just seemed like a lost puppy onscreen in her storyline and the bad guy she was up against was very blah. The whole Batman/Batgirl affair seemed really out of place and very forced. They really could have done without making the extra scenes for the movie.

When we got to the actual source material, it played out almost exactly as you have read in the graphic novel. Hearing the original voice actors from the animated series made the movie even better. Had the team done a better job of integrating the added additions, there would have been more appreciation for the source material. Of course, all Joker wanted to do was show everyone that it took one event to have a bad day and drive a person insane. It does make you wonder, what could cause a person to have a very bad day that could drive them mad? Let’s hope none of us ever get to that point. I could dive more into the controversy with this graphic novel, but it’s getting late and I’m tired of writing. Just Google other articles online about the movie.

 

Leave a Reply

